P+F: Don’t Worry Now

Art by X-I-L2048

Who knew my first “Phineas and Ferb” fanart would be so dang depressing? If you’re a fan of “Phineas and Ferb” and you know that the two main characters are stepbrothers, you’ve probably wondered where Phineas and Candace’s biological father and Ferb’s biological mother went and what circumstances brought their remaining parents together. In an attempt to answer this question, KicsterAsh, who is an awesome artist and author in her own right, created Francis Flynn, musician, inventor, Candace and Phineas’ biological father, and all-around awesome guy. No seriously, I think Ash might have created my favorite P+F OC, and even one of my favorite OCs of all time with this guy. He was a great dad, and both Candace and Phineas adored him, but, as you can probably tell by the picture, some things are too good to last. Francis was tragically killed in a car accident when Candace was seven and Phineas was two.

I got the idea for this picture after reading a short story by Ash titled “Love Letters to Heaven,” following Candace and Phineas through their child and young adulthood and how they cope with the loss of their father. Although they do eventually gain a new brother in Ferb and father in Lawrence, whom they both love very much, they never forget Francis and what he meant to them. I am not ashamed to admit I bawled like a baby when I read it. :,-< I cried even more when I heard the song Ash based the story off of, which inspired the title of this picture, “Don’t Worry Now,” by Britt Nicole. Even though the girl in the song has her parents going through a divorce, the song nailed how Candace would have felt when her daddy died to a tee, and I suddenly got the above image in my head and it wouldn’t go away. I had to draw it.

I tried my best to imitate Ash’s method of drawing the Phineas and Ferb style in the picture, which is a little different than the way it appears in the show, but not that much. I think I did alright, and it was actually quite fun! Doing the background was another story, though. I developed a real loathing for that wooden bench. The words on the side are from the first verse of “Don’t Worry Now.” I thought they were appropriate.

About kuzlalala

Art student, DynEd fangirl, sometimes comments on contemporary Islamic issues.
This entry was posted in Fanart, Phineas and Ferb, Supporting Francis Flynn, Supporting OC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

